tennis 4 days ago

All-SEC football: Coaches put 10 from Alabama, seven from Auburn on all-league squad

The Anniston Star, Ala. — The Anniston Star, Ala.

Dec. 05--Alabama put a league-high 10 players on the All-Southeastern Conference coaches football team, while Auburn and LSU are tied for second with seven.

SEC champion Georgia is fourth with five players on the squad.

The 2017 list includes 12 players who have made multiple appearances on the All-SEC team. Auburn's Daniel Carlson, Florida's Johnny Townsend, Texas A&M's Christian Kirk, and Alabama's Calvin Ridley and JK Scott have been voted All-SEC for the third time. Kirk, Carlson, Scott, Alabama's Minkah Fitzpatrick and LSU's Will Clapp were named to the first team for the second straight season.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

The SEC individual award winners will be released Wednesday and the all-freshman team will be announced Thursday.

All-SEC coaches team



TE: Hayden Hurst, South Carolina

OL: Isaiah Wynn, Georgia

OL: Braden Smith, Auburn

OL: Martinas Rankin, Mississippi State

OL: Jonah Williams, Alabama

C: Will Clapp, LSU

WR: A.J. Brown, Ole Miss

WR: Calvin Ridley, Alabama

QB: Drew Lock, Missouri

RB: Kerryon Johnson, Auburn

RB: Nick Chubb, Georgia

AP: Christian Kirk, Texas A&M


DL: Jeff Holland, Auburn

DL: Montez Sweat, Mississippi State

DL: Raekwon Davis, Alabama

DL: Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State

LB: Roquan Smith, Georgia

LB: Devin White, LSU

LB: Skai Moore, South Carolina

DB: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama

DB: Duke Dawson, Florida

DB: Armani Watts, Texas A&M

DB: Carlton Davis, Auburn


PK: Daniel Carlson, Auburn

P: JK Scott, Alabama

RS: Christian Kirk, Texas A&M



TE: Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri

OL: Trey Smith, Tennessee

OL: Garrett Brumfield, LSU

OL: Martez Ivey, Florida

OL: Greg Little, Ole Miss

C: Bradley Bozeman, Alabama

WR: J'Mon Moore, Missouri

WR: Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

QB: Jarrett Stidham, Auburn

RB: Benny Snell, Kentucky

RB: Derrius Guice, LSU

AP: A.J. Brown, Ole Miss


DL: Da'Ron Payne, Alabama

DL: Marcell Frazier, Missouri

DL: Da'Shawn Hand, Alabama

DL: Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss

LB: Rashaan Evans, Alabama

LB: Lorenzo Carter, Georgia

LB: Tre' Williams, Auburn

DB: Ronnie Harrison, Alabama

DB: Donte Jackson, LSU

DB: Greedy Williams, LSU

DB: Deandre Baker, Georgia


PK: Eddy Pineiro, Florida

P: Johnny Townsend, Florida

RS: D.J. Chark, LSU

All-SEC Associated Press team



WR: A.J. Brown, Ole Miss, 6-1, 225, So.

WR: Calvin Ridley, Alabama, 6-1, 190. Jr.

T: Jonah Williams, Alabama, 6-5, 301, So.

T: Isaiah Wynn, Georgia, 6-2, 302, Sr.

G: Braden Smith, Auburn, 6-6, 303, Sr.

G: Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama, 6-4, 303, Jr.

C: Bradley Bozeman, Alabama, 6-5, 314, Sr.

C: Will Clapp, LSU, 6-5, 309, Jr.

TE: Hayden Hurst, South Carolina, 6-5, 250, Jr.

QB: Drew Lock, Missouri, 6-4, 225, Jr.

RB: Kerryon Johnson, Auburn, 6-0, 212, Jr.

RB: Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky, 5-11, 223, So.

PK: Daniel Carlson, Auburn, 6-4, 223, Sr.

All-Purpose: Christian Kirk, Texas A&M, 5-11, 200, Jr.


DE: Jeff Holland, Auburn, 6-2, 249, Jr.

DE: Montez Sweat, Mississippi State, 6-6, 241, Jr.

DT: Da'Ron Payne, Alabama, 6-2, 308, Jr.

DT: Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State, 6-4, 307, So.

LB: Roquan Smith, Georgia, 6-1, 225, Jr.

LB: Devin White, LSU, 6-1, 255, So.

LB: Rashaan Evans, Alabama, 6-3, 234, Sr.

LB: Arden Key, LSU, 6-6, 255, Jr.

CB: Andraez Williams, LSU, 6-2, 175, Fr.

CB: Armani Watts, Texas A&M, 5-11, 200, Sr.

S: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama, 6-1, 202, Jr.

S: Ronnie Harrison, Alabama, 6-3, 214, Jr.

P: Johnny Townsend, Florida, 6-1, 211, Sr.



WR: J'Mon Moore, Missouri, 6-3, 205, Sr.

WR: Christian Kirk, Texas A&M, 5-11, 200, Jr.

T: Martinas Rankin, Mississippi State, 6-5, 305, Sr.

T: Martez Ivey, Florida, 6-5, 305, Jr.

G: Trey Smith, Tennessee, 6-6, 320, Fr.

G: Greg Little, Ole Miss, 6-6, 325, So.

C: Frank Ragnow, Arkansas, 6-5, 317, Sr.

TE: Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri, 6-5, 260, Fr.

QB: Jarrett Stidham, Auburn, 6-3, 214, So.

RB: Nick Chubb, Georgia, 5-10, 225, Sr.

RB: Derrius Guice, LSU, 5-11, 212, Jr.

PK: Eddy Pineiro, Florida, 6-0, 173, Jr.

All-Purpose: Mecole Hardman, Georgia, 5-11, 183, So.

All-Purpose: D.J. Chark, LSU, 6-3, 187, Sr.


DE: Marcell Frazier, Missouri, 6-5, 265, Sr.

DE: Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss, 6-3, 230, Sr.

DE: Dante Sawyer, South Carolina, 6-3, 275, Sr.

DT: Taven Bryan, Florida,

DT: Raekwon Davis, Alabama, 6-7, 306, So.

DT: Breeland Speaks, Ole Miss, 6-3, 285, Jr.

LB: Josh Allen, Kentucky, 6-5, 230, Jr.

LB: Lorenzo Carter, Georgia, 6-6, 243, Sr.

LB: De'Jon Harris, Arkansas, 6-0, 242, So.

LB: Skai Moore, South Carolina, 6-2 218, Sr.

LB: Charles Wright, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 240, Jr.

CB: Duke Dawson, Florida, 5-10, 208, Sr.

CB: Levi Wallace, Alabama, 6-0, 183, Sr.

CB: Carlton Davis, Auburn, 6-1, 203, Jr.

CB: C.J. Henderson, Florida, 6-1, 182, Fr.

S: J.R. Reed, Georgia, 6-1, 194, So.

P: JK Scott, Alabama, 6-6, 204, Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year: Kerryon Johnson, Auburn

Defensive Player of the Year: Roquan Smith, Georgia

Coach of the Year: Kirby Smart, Georgia

Newcomers of the Year: Jake Fromm, Georgia, and Jarrett Stidham, Auburn


(c)2017 The Anniston Star (Anniston, Ala.)

Visit The Anniston Star (Anniston, Ala.) at

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.